top of page

Sexual Violence Prevention Leadership Awards

Celebrate the changemakers in your school community

Elementary and Secondary Awards

The Draw the Line Leadership Awards for the elementary and secondary sector recognize the exceptional sexual violence prevention efforts of school community members. Students, teachers, school staff, and other members of the school community are all eligible recipients.


Emily Guitar, 

Etobicoke School of the Arts, Toronto

To educate her school community about rape culture and sexual violence, Emily organized and directed “My Being”. The first edition of the multi-arts show, which took place June 1st, 2018, helped survivors and allies to break the culture of silence that often surrounds sexual violence and raise awareness about what can be done to end this form of violence. The show featured works and performances by 30 students and was attended by more than 120 students, educators, and parents. 

2018 Recipients

Tejaswini Chauhan,

Winter Goddard,

Anastasia Gontzias, Gentijana Sejdiu,

Angela Simic,

Roseville Public School, Windsor

Tejaswini, Winter, Anastasia, Gentijana, and Angela organized a forum on sexual violence prevention for 130 Grade 7-8 students from three schools in Windsor. Community partners and students organizers delivered workshops on consent, allyship, bystander intervention, and Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women. To multiply the positive impact of the forum on their community, the organizers gave the participants the opportunity to reflect and discuss how they would share what they had learned with their friends and their families.

Sarah Bahreinian

& Isabelle Strang,

Women's Empowerment Club, Bloor Collegiate Institute, Toronto

Sarah, Isabelle, and the members of the Women’s Empowerment Club planned an entire week of activities to inspire their community to take an active stance against gender-based violence. They organized a procession to commemorate the December 6th Montreal Massacre, hosted a discussion circle, a poetry jam, and a self-defense workshop. Their efforts helped students and teachers, including male allies, to think about their roles to challenge rape culture and prevent sexual violence

Kenneth Luu,

Milliken Mills High School


Kenneth organizes activities that use Draw the Line resources to start conversations and increase his peers’ awareness about the issue of sexual violence. He exemplifies how everyone has a role to play to prevent sexual violence, including men and boys.

2017 Recipients

Stephanie Keon Pinkerton, 

St. Andrews Elementary School, Killaloe

Stephanie actively includes anti-violence components in her teaching and fosters a consent culture in her school by exploring consensus decision-making with her students. With the help of a colleague, she leads a social skills group focused on listening skills and honest communication.

Micky Renders,

Peterborough Alternative and Continuing Education Program

Micky embraces community-based art projects as a prevention tool. She encourages her students, many of whom are marginalized youth and young adults, to use art as a means of breaking the silence around trauma and sexual violence.

Post-Secondary Awards

The Draw the Line Leadership Awards for the post-secondary sector recognize the exceptional sexual violence prevention efforts of campus community members. 

Past Recipients:


2018 Recipients

Sarah Crawford - Sexual Violence Prevention and Harm Reduction Coordinator, Algonquin College

Jen Gordon – Sexual Violence Prevention and Education Coordinator, Nipissing University22

2017 Recipients

Elizabeth Brulé – Professor, Engaged Education, York University

Chris Moulton – Alumni Advancement Manager - University of Guelph

Sarah Wiley – Student Leader, University of Waterloo​

bottom of page